The Royal Hobart Regatta Association pays its respect to the original owners of the land on which we work, the Muwinina, Mouheneenaa and Moumairrmenair people who did not survive British colonisation.

We acknowledge the history of the language groups that settled on the River Derwent Estuary; the Mouheneenaa on the western shore and Moumairrmenair on the eastern who gave names to Estuary such as Raagapyarranne and Nibbalin.

We acknowledge the Tasmanian Aboriginal community as the continuing custodians of lutruwita (Tasmania) and honour Aboriginal Elders past, present and emerging.