The only sea-based rowing event in Tasmania, rowing has had a proud history and tradition at the Royal Hobart Regatta. At the first Regatta in 1838, local and visiting whaling crews competed for prize money, over a triangular course starting at Hunter Point and return.

In the current day, the course is just over 1,100 metres in length, starting from a fixed position attached to the Tasman Bridge and finishes in front of the Regatta grounds, with 19 events 83 entries and 137 rowers starting at 7am and finishing by 10am, this is a must watch event for the public. The highlight of the day is the race for to win the Denis-Mounie trophy for the championship eights.