Rowing, like sailing, has been continuously conducted at the Royal Hobart Regatta since its inception in 1838.

Originally a spot for local and visiting whaling crews teams competed for valuable ‘purses’ of gold sovereigns, over a triangular course starting at Hunter Point (the site of the current grandstand), upstream to a point adjacent Government House, then onto the eastern shore Battery at Howrah Point, and return to the start at Hunter Point.

Later, in the 19th Century rowing races were conducted in eight-oared and four-oared boats with coxswains in a form similar to present day.

Presently the Regatta course is 1,100 metres in length commencing from a fixed toggle line attached to the abutments of the Tasman Bridge.

Rowing at the Royal Hobart Regatta is made possible through the support of Rowing Tasmania.

The 2023 Rowing Secretary will be Chris Jennings (New Norfolk Rowing Club)


Returning 2025


Message Now

Entry Form

Returning Soon